RSS Feed

Old Dogs

Old Dogs

I do love my old dogs, no matter how troublesome they may be.

I do hate to see Doc slowing down. He has been listening to the song “Old and In the Way” and taking it to heart. Whenever I try to move around in my cramped trailer, there he is, right in the way. I’ve gotten very adept at stepping over him.

We had a cold snap last night. I turned the heat on, but I tend to keep it low. This morning I noticed Doc shivering in his crate. He has a full thick coat so I was surprised, but I dug out his winter coat and put it on him. Whatever it takes to keep him comfortable.

He sometimes can’t find me and has a worried look on his face, especially if we are staying away from home house-sitting. He will pace back and forth through the rooms or yard until I wave my arms and talk to him. Then he relaxes.

I thought this year I had licked the skin problem that had been getting worse each summer. This year I managed to get the hair on his back to grow in to its full natural thick coat and the itching stopped. Now that it’s turning cold, he has started chewing raw spots again. What’s up with that?

He has become very vocal in his old age. He isn’t whining so much as moaning. His latest routine to make me crazy is a new tactic of scratching at the door. Naturally, I’ll take him out whenever he seems to need to. But he has to go out on a chain since we live in a trailer park. So he goes out and just stands there for a minute and then starts moaning. I give up and bring him back inside. He scratches at the door again. He moans.  And so it goes…

Still, I love this old guy. I know the day will come when we can’t be together any more and the thought breaks my heart. We have been through a lot of good times and bad times. He has always been there for me.

About ragtimelil

Writer, collie mom and all-around great person.

Leave a Reply

