RSS Feed

Way Out West

Way Out West

We’ve been absent from the blog due to our long trip to Gouldbusk, Texas. We are staying on friends’ farm while they are away at a sheepdog trial. There are about 10 dogs here, not counting the livestock guard dogs. We are also feeding donkeys, horses, chickens, guineas, geese, goats, lambs, cats and one cockatoo named Lilly. Did I miss anyone?

Moss is getting lots of sheep time and I’m amazed at how he is improving. I discovered that the only reprimand he will listen to when he’s on sheep is flinging something at him. I cut up an old garden hose so I’d have something easily carried and won’t hurt him if it accidentally hits him. He just does not like things coming at him through the air. As a result, he sometimes startles me when he does drop to the ground when I say lie down.

Now if I can only keep him out of the mud puddle on the way back to the house….

When he’s not working (which is most of the time) he loves hanging out in the fenced back yard – something he doesn’t get to do at home.

About ragtimelil

Writer, collie mom and all-around great person.

Leave a Reply

