RSS Feed

What a Boy!

Image

Now this is what I’m talking about. Moss has been catching on to this idea of working together. I don’t expect perfection, but I’ve been waiting a long time to see some signs that he is learning.

He surprised me today. He has been reluctant to go too far on an outrun. He gets uncomfortable and runs back to me. Today, I used him to move the sheep to another pen and he ran way out to get the sheep. I was amazed!

We are actually working on four different things.

  • longer outruns
  • staying back off the sheep
  • walking up at a walk
  • downs when and where I say

I put him on a long line a couple of times the past couple of weeks and explained to him the concept of WALKING up to sheep. He thought “walk up” meant dive in. Today, we were putting the sheep away and he got between me and the sheep. He looked back at me and I could see him thinking, “if she’s behind me, I should be walking.” And that’s just what he did. I couldn’t believe it. I just held my breath and let him walk up until we got to the gate.. What a GUY!

About ragtimelil

Writer, collie mom and all-around great person.

Leave a Reply

