RSS Feed

Still Working At It

Moss LookingI think I have a perfect example of a herding dog with lots of instinct, but no talent.

I’ve been trying for six months or more to teach Moss to bring the sheep to me. He wants desperately to get to the sheep, but will just run circles around them unless I stop him.  He has no clue that he’s supposed to move them to me.

I just recently discovered that if I bring the sheep to the fence I can keep Moss on the outside. He likes to push and dive along the fence but I can block him so that he has to either turn or slow down. Sometimes he’s even walking.

We’ve also started letting that group out of the pen when he’s done. That way he can see there’s a purpose in moving the sheep and I can praise him for doing a good job.

About ragtimelil

Writer, collie mom and all-around great person.

Leave a Reply

