RSS Feed

A Good Day

Posted on

Image

We were invited over to work sheep this morning. Of course the sky opened up and it rained like crazy as soon as we got there. We waited a while and it finally wound down and left everything cool and wet. So off we went to the sheep pen. I took Doc in with us this time to see if he would keep the sheep off the fence. He did a great job of that, but he is a pretty sensitive guy. Every time I had to get sharp with Moss, Doc would lie down or leave. I tried to encourage him and let him know that I wasn’t mad at him. I think he was starting to understand that by the time we were done.

Moss was pretty wild when we started. He was slicing in with his mouth open. Never a good sign. I had to really get on his case about that. By the time we did a second session, he was doing a bit better. Just before calling it a day, the sheep bolted for the corner and gate where they like to huddle. It was too far away for Moss. He just stopped, as he has been doing. I didn’t want him to get them out of the corner because he gets too carried away and usually takes a cheap shot at a sheep leg. I turned to call Doc over to help and when I turned back, Moss was walking into the corner and bringing the sheep to me, with me doing nothing!!!! I just stood with my mouth open! You can be sure he got a lot of praise for that!

Image

About ragtimelil

Writer, collie mom and all-around great person.

Leave a Reply

